Activities
CLOONEEN HOUSE

THINGS TO DO IN WESTPORT

CROAGH PATRICK

Croagh Patrick, one of Europe’s best know places of Pilgrimage, has provided a tough ascent for many pilgrims each year, climbing barefoot in the memory of St. Patrick, who spent forty days and forty nights fasting on the summit more than 1,500 years ago. A small church at the summit of the mountain welcomes penitents, while magnificent views of Clew Bay, with an island for every day of the week, provides inspiration for many walkers and visitors throughout the year. Visit www.croagh-patrick.com

THE GREAT WESTERN GREENWAY

The Great Western Greenway traverses Ireland’s Atlantic coast between Westport town and Achill Island and visits the picturesque villages of Newport and Mulranny (Mallaranny)Ideally placed along the County Mayo stretch of the Wild Atlantic Way, whether hopping in the saddle or grabbing your boots, Ireland’s longest off-road cycling trail is brimming with unparalleled views and inspiring landscapes. Set out on the longest off-road walking and cycling trail in Ireland and you’ll soon escape the shackles of today’s urban life. Visit www.greenway.ie to learn more or visit www.clewbayoutdoors.ie to rent a bike and truly discover the Great Western Greenway. 

WESTPORT HOUSE

Westport is, of course, home of Westport House and Country Estate, one of Ireland’s top Day Visitor Attractions. This fine Georgian mansion, home of Lord Sligo, is open to visitors from April to September each year.

WESTPORT RUGBY CLUB

The Westport Rugby Club, founded in 1925, now caters for over 140 minis, 100 Youths at  age grades Under 13, 15, 17 and Under 19, 2 Girls Teams and two adult Junior Teams.

Kids from the wider Westport area, Newport, Mulranny, Achill, Louisburgh,  all enjoy the facilities & coaching at our Club.

www.westportrfc.ie

WESTPORT GOLF CLUB

Westport town boasts many tourist facilities, including the Westport Golf Club, an excellent 18 hole Championship Golf Course is located on the Golf Course Road. Just off the Newport Road, approximately one mile outside the town centre, this fabulous golf course guarantees excellent golf and scenic splendour. Visit www.clewbaygolf.com 

THE CLEW BAY HERITAGE CENTRE

Another key attraction in Westport is The Clew Bay Heritage Centre, located at the Harbour.

HORSE RIDING & PONY TREKKING

Horse riding and pony trekking are on offer all year round, contact Drummindoo Stud Equitation Centre. Clay pigeon shooting, sea angling, hill walking, sailing and adventure sports are among the many other activities on offer to the visitor. Contact, The Westport Tourist Office The Mall Westport. Telephone: ++ 353 (0) 98 25711.

SEA ANGLING

Westport is also a leading sea angling centre. Boats may be hired by groups or individuals and leave the harbour daily, bound for the rich fishing grounds in the Bay, where a variety of fish offer excellent sport.

The freshwater angler is well catered for on the many lakes and rivers. For a modest license fee, a day’s or a week’s fishing may be had. The Erriff and Delphi fisheries are well known and there are many lesser streams and lakes to enjoy.

BREATH-TAKING BEACHES

There is a wide selection of sandy beaches to choose from on the North and South shores of Clew Bay, and down the coast south of the Bay to where the isolated strand of Thallabawn meets Killary Harbour, Ireland’s only fjord. Many of the beaches are EC Blue Flag winners including Bertra, near Murrisk, Old Head and Carramore in Louisburgh.

Westport’s proximity to many blue flag beaches and magnificent scenic drives ensures a unique holiday to suit all visitor tastes. For further information on Westport visit the Westport Tourism website.

DINING & NIGHTLIFE

Over the years, Westport has been growing in popularity as a visitor destination. The town contains many fine restaurants, specialising particularly in seafood and many fine traditional pubs, all providing a friendly ambience. 

EXPERIENCE ALL THAT WESTPORT HAS TO OFFER

PLACES TO VISIT NEAR WESTPORT

Inish Boffin Island
www.inishboffin.com

Achill Island
www.achilltourism.com

Shopping

Carraig Donn www.carraigdonn.com

Celtic Jewellery www.celticjewellery.com

Westport Design https://westportdesign.ie/

Local Information

The Mayo News www.mayonews.ie

Mayo County Council www.mayococo.ie

Ireland West Tourism www.irelandwest.ie

Westport Civic Trust www.westportcivivtrust.com

Westport Chamber of Commerce www.westportireland.com

Travel

Bus Eireann www.buseireann.ie

Irish Rail www.irishrail.ie

Knock Airport www.knockairport.ie

MyTravelLite www.mytravellite.com

Ryanair www.ryanair.com

British Airways www.britishairways.com

Aer Lingus www.aerlingus.com

Brendan McGing Taxi 0872417466

ENJOY SPECIAL DISCOUNTS

% DISCOUNTS

Guests get a discount at the Castlecourt Hotel Leisure Centre which offers a truly spectacular 20 metre Swimming Pool, Kiddies Splash pool, Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi and a fully equipped and modern Gymnasium. Guests also get a discount at the Plaza Hotel SPA. Spa Sula is one of the hottest spa destinations in the West. We also work with our local bike hire provider and guests can enjoy a 10% discount when booking with Clew Bay Bike Hire.